HomeSports NewsThe selectors who were removed by BCCI are trying to return, then...

The selectors who were removed by BCCI are trying to return, then claim

The BCCI had decided not to extend the tenure of the current selection committee along with the announcement of applications for the new selection committee on November 18.

The selectors who were removed by BCCI are trying to return, then claim

India failed in 4 major tournaments during the tenure of the Chetan Sharma-led selection committee.

Image Credit source: Twitter

The Board of Control for Cricket in India sacked the entire selection committee after the Indian team failed to win the title in the T20 World Cup. The performance of the Chetan Sharma-led selection committee was deemed to be below expectations. The board had also invited applications from willing former cricketers for the formation of a new selection committee. According to the information, a lot of applications have been received for the new committee, in which the chairman of the previous committee, Chetan Sharma and Harvinder Singh are also included.

BCCI had announced the applications for all the 5 members of the selection committee on 18th November. With this it was clear that the tenure of the old committee would not be extended. For this, the board had kept the deadline till 28 November. According to the reports that are coming in after this deadline is over, dozens of former cricketers have applied for this.

Sharma-Singh trying to return again

According to a report in the English newspaper Indian Express, the chairman of the previous committee and former fast bowler Chetan Sharma and another fast bowler Harvinder Singh, who was with him in the committee, have again presented their claim for this post. However, former spinners Sunil Joshi and Debashish Mohanty, who were the chairman for some time just before Chetan Sharma, have not put their names again. Mohanty’s tenure was on the verge of ending.

This player is also in the race

According to the same report, many well-known and some big names of domestic cricket like former India veteran medium pacer Venkatesh Prasad, Doda Ganesh, former star wicketkeeper Nayan Mongia, former left-arm spinner Maninder Singh, Nikhil Chopra, Shivsundar Das, Ajay Ratra Names have also got their names written in this race. The work of the new selection committee will begin with the selection of the team for the ODI series against Sri Lanka in January.

read this also

Awaiting formation of CAC

Five zones in BCCI’s Senior Men’s Selection Committee; Central, North, West, East and South; One member each is elected, in which the most senior is appointed as the Chief Selector. However, for the appointment of the selection panel, the board will also have to constitute a new Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), which has been mandated in the new constitution. Only Sulakshana Naik is present in the current CAC. In such a situation, either the BCCI will have to form a new committee, or the remaining two members will have to be appointed in it.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments