Usman Khawaja gets a shock again, ban on wearing black band will continue; Know the whole matter

Usman Khawaja vs ICC: ICC has once again shocked Usman Khawaja. His appeal has been rejected by the ICC. He had made this appeal against the ban imposed on him, in which he was banned from wearing an armband (black band). Khawaja wore a black armband during the three-match Test series against Pakistan in support of the children affected by the ongoing conflict between Israel and Palestine in Gaza. Due to this he was reprimanded by ICC and was asked not to do so.

A report in Sydney Morning Herald on Sunday claimed that Usman Khawaja appealed against this ban of ICC but he was disappointed. After his appeal was rejected, he would not be able to wear a black band on his arm in future. According to ICC rules, cricketers cannot make such efforts to convey any kind of message on religious, racist or political matters in international matches. He can wear the black band only on the death of former players or any of his family members or any big personality after taking prior permission from the ICC.

Wore a black band in Perth
During the Perth Test against Pakistan, Usman Khawaja came on the field wearing a black armband. When the ICC reprimanded him for this and banned him, he had to take off this bandage. Even before this test, Usman had come into the headlines. When he came down during a practice session on December 13, his shoes had messages like ‘All lives are equal’ and ‘Freedom is a human right’ written on them. The meaning of these messages like ‘All lives are equally important’ and ‘Freedom is a human right’ were also linked to the massacre taking place in the Gaza Strip.

Due to these actions, Khawaja had to face criticism from the ICC and the media, but he did not receive any reprimand from Cricket Australia for this. Fellow players also supported him in this entire matter.

Also read…

IND vs AFG: For which players is the return of Rohit-Virat an alarm bell? Know who may be exempted from T20 World Cup

Leave a Comment