Rohit Sharma has played a big bet, almost got the ticket for the final by winning the toss.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: The match between India and New Zealand is about to start. Indian captain Rohit Sharma has won the toss and decided to bat first. New Zealand captain Kane Williamson also wanted to bat first after winning the toss. Let us tell you the playing eleven of these two teams. You can get an idea of ​​the importance of the toss at Wankhede, Mumbai’s historic cricket ground, by looking at the figures given below.

toss record

On this ground, winning or losing the toss does not make much difference in the ODI format. In fact, at this ground, the team that lost the toss has won more matches (15), while the team that won the toss has won less (12). This trend is also going on in the last 10 ODI matches. Out of the last 10 ODI matches, the team that lost the toss has won the match 6 times. In the 27 ODI matches played so far on this ground, the captains have won the toss and decided to bat first 17 times while they have decided to bowl first only 10 times.

Wankhede Stadium Statistics

  • A total of 27 ODI matches have been played on this ground.
  • The team batting first has won 14 times.
  • The team that batted 13 times later has won.
  • Average score for this ground: 261
  • Average winning score at this ground: 308
  • Highest total made in the first innings: 438
  • Highest successful run chase: 292

Talking about the semi-final match between India and New Zealand, for this match, most of the cricket experts around the world believe that after winning the toss, one should decide to bat first, because it will be easier to score runs in the afternoon. There is a lot of scoreboard pressure in big matches. In such a situation, after scoring a big score, if the ball moves in the night light, then the bowlers can take advantage at night. However, Team India captain Rohit Sharma said that the toss does not hold much importance for him.

India’s playing eleven: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

New Zealand’s playing eleven: Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tom Latham (wk), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

Also read: IND vs NZ: Will Virat break Sachin’s record of ODI centuries today? The whole country is waiting for King Kohli’s 50th century.

Leave a Comment