England surprised everyone in Hyderabad, defeated India by 28 runs

IND vs ENG 1st Test Full Highlights: India lost the first test played against England in Hyderabad. Host India had to face defeat in the match by 28 runs. England’s Ollie Pope, who had almost lagged behind in the match, made a brilliant comeback by playing an innings of 196 runs. After this, the remaining work was done by English spinner Tom Hartley, who was playing his debut test. Hartley took not 1 or 2 but 7 wickets.

Batting first in the match, England was all out for 246 runs. In reply, India put 436 runs on the board in its first innings. Then while batting in the second innings, England put 420 runs on the board and set a target of 231 runs for India. Chasing the target, India was reduced to 202 runs in its second innings.

Ollie Pope got England back

England, who came to bat in the second innings, were behind by 190 runs. England got a good start, but continuous fall of wickets was a big problem for them. The English team had lost 5 wickets at the score of 163. But during this time Ollie Pope, who came at number three, was present at the crease. Then Pope, along with Ben Fox, added 112 runs for the sixth wicket and took the team to the score of 275 runs, when he lost the sixth wicket of the innings in the form of Fox.

Then by the end of the third day, England had put 316/6 on the board and during this time Ollie Pope was present at the crease after scoring 148* runs. Then England came out to bat on the fourth day and ended their second innings by scoring 420 runs. During this, Ollie Pope scored 196 runs for the team with the help of 21 fours in 278 balls.

Team India could not achieve the target of 231 runs

Captain Rohit Sharma and Yashasvi Jaiswal gave a good start to the Indian team chasing the target. Both added 42 runs for the first wicket, after which India got its first blow in the form of Jaiswal on the fourth ball of the 12th over. Jaiswal scored 15 runs in 35 balls with the help of 2 fours. Then Shubman Gill, who came out to bat, was out on the second ball of his innings without opening the account.

After this, captain Rohit Sharma, who was playing a good innings, was out in the 18th over on the ball of Tom Hartley. Then Akshar Patel, who was batting at number five, was out in the 30th over. India lost the fourth wicket in the form of Akshar, who was out after scoring 17 runs with the help of 3 fours. After some time, KL Rahul returned to the pavilion after scoring 22 runs. India lost the fifth wicket in the form of Rahul.

The process of falling wickets for India did not stop here. The sixth blow to the team came in the form of Ravindra Jadeja (02) in the 39th over at the score of 119 runs. Jadeja was run out. Then Shreyas Iyer (13) returned to the pavilion in the 41st over. After this, KS Bharat lost his wicket, who scored 28 runs with the help of 3 fours. Then India got the ninth blow in the form of Ravichandran Ashwin at the score of 177 runs in the 64th over. After this, Siraj and Bumrah made a partnership of 25 runs for the last wicket, but they could not lead the team to victory.

Tom Hartley did wonders for England

Tom Hartley, playing his debut test, made a total of 7 Indian batsmen his victims. During this, he spent 62 runs in 26.2 overs. Apart from this, Joe Root and Jack Leach got 1-1 success.

Read this also…

Tom Hartley Profile: Who is Tom Hartley, who showed the stars to the Indian batsmen during the day? England won the debut test by opening its claws

Leave a Comment