Did the punters make a big mistake by allowing Rohit Sharma to bat again in the Super Over?

Rohit Sharma Retire Hurt or Retire Out: The third and last match of the three-match T20 series between India and Afghanistan was played on Wednesday (January 17) at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. The match was very interesting, which ended after two super overs. In this match, Indian captain Rohit Sharma came on the field to bat a total of three times. But it was not right for Rohit to come out to bat for the third time? Or did this happen due to the umpires’ mistake? So let us know what the rule says about this matter.

After the match was tied, Team India chased the target in the first super over. Captain Rohit Sharma and Yashasvi Jaiswal came to open for India. Afghanistan batted first and put 16 runs on the board, in response to which Team India could only score 16 runs. Team India needed 2 runs on the last ball of the Super Over, then Yashasvi Jaiswal was on strike and Rohit Sharma was present at the non-striker end.

Rohit Sharma decided to go back to the pavilion before the last ball and Rinku Singh from the dugout came on the field in his place without a helmet and stood at the non-strike end. But was it right for Rohit Sharma to leave the field midway? Yes. Any player can do this. During this, Afghanistan captain Ibrahim Zadran talked with field umpires Virendra Sharma and Jayraman Madangopal, but the decision of Rohit Sharma’s departure was not changed.

What do the rules say when the batter retires?

A batsman may retire at any time during his innings when the ball is not being bowled. The umpires will be informed of the reason for the batsman’s retirement before resuming play.”

“If a batsman is retired due to injury, illness or any other cause which cannot be avoided, the batsman is entitled to resume his innings. If for any reason this is not the case, the batsman shall be declared ‘Retired- Will be recorded as ‘not out’.”

“If the batsman is retired for any reason not covered by clause 25.4.2, the player’s innings may be restarted only with the approval of the captain of the opposing team. If for any reason the innings is not restarted, Then the batter will be considered retired out.”

Now after understanding the complete rules, this question must be arising in your mind that on what basis was Rohit Sharma allowed to bat in the second Super Over, when he had retired in the first Super Over. However, no official information has been revealed yet regarding whether Rohit Sharma retired hurt or retired out during the first Super Over. However, it was not made clear whether Rohit Sharma was injured or ill at the time of retirement.

What do the conditions of super over say?

According to the playing eleven conditions of the Super Over, “A batsman who was out in the previous Super Over will not be eligible to bat in any subsequent Super Over.” If Rohit had retired out, he would not have been allowed to bat in the next over, but he would have played the next super over as well.

So did the umpires make a mistake?

However, without official information coming out, it cannot be said whether the umpires made a mistake or not. But it seems as if the umpires made some mistake. However, it was also not clear whether the umpires had talked to the Afghanistan team or not. Because without injury or illness the player retires out, after which he cannot bat in the next super over.

Read this also…

IND vs ENG: KL Rahul or Shreyas Iyer, who will get the chance at number 5 in the England Test series?

Leave a Comment