After becoming world champion, Australian legend told Ashwin the secret of winning the final

ICC World Cup 2023: The final match of the ODI World Cup 2023 was played between India and Australia at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. In this match, Australia won the toss and decided to bowl first and won the World Cup. At the same time, Indian captain Rohit Sharma had said that even if he had won the toss, he would have preferred to bat first. However, after the match was over, it was realized that the Indian team captain had made a mistake in reading the pitch, and Australian team captain Pat Cummins had assessed how the pitch would play from morning till night.

Why did Australia bowl first in the final match?

This information has been given by the chief selector of the Australian team and former cricketer George Bailey himself. Ravichandran Ashwin revealed through his YouTube channel that George Bailey told him the reason for not batting first. Ashwin told that, “When I asked George Bailey, why didn’t you guys bat first? He said, we have been playing IPL and bilateral series here for a long time, and the red clay pitch gets cracked, but Black soil pitch does not crack. It becomes better under light (night time). Whereas dew has no effect on red soil pitch, but on black soil pitch the ball turns a lot in the afternoon. , and then it becomes a flat pitch at night. This is our experience, so we decided to bowl first after winning the toss in the final match.”

The pitch of the final match depended on the toss.

Whatever the former Australian cricketer told Ashwin, exactly the same thing happened on the Ahmedabad pitch in the final match. This clearly means that the pitch of the final match was highly dependent on the toss, which should not have happened, and Indian team captain Rohit Sharma could not even test the pitch properly. Australia won the toss in the final match and asked India to bat. India was restricted to just 240 runs in 50 overs, and then scored 241 runs in 43 overs and won the final by 6 wickets, and also became world champion for the sixth time.

Also read: Who will replace Ben Stokes worth Rs 16 crore in CSK? Know the 3 best options

Leave a Comment