5 years of historic victory completed, India is the only Asian team to win a Test series in Australia

India’s first test series win in Australia: On 7 January 2019, i.e. exactly 5 years ago, a historic moment came in the world of cricket. This was the moment when for the first time an Asian team won a Test series in Australia. The Indian team had achieved this title. The special thing is that till now India is the only Asian team which has defeated Australia in a Test series in its home grounds. The interesting thing is that India has done this work not once but twice. After 2019, in 2021 also Team India won the Test series in Australia.

So far, Asian teams have played a total of 35 test series in Australia. Teams of India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have been playing Test series on Kangaroo soil for the last several decades. But this happened only twice here, when Australia lost the series. Both these times India forced Australia to kneel.

India surprised Australia in Adelaide test
In December 2018, under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, Team India toured Australia to play a four-match Test series. Team India surprised Australia in the very first match of this Border-Gavaskar Trophy. In the Adelaide Test, India’s first innings was limited to 250 while the Indian bowlers also bundled out Australia’s first innings for 235. After this, Team India scored 307 runs in the second innings. Here, while chasing the target of 323 runs, the Kangaroo team could score only 291 runs. And in this way Team India took a 1-0 lead in the Test series. Cheteshwar Pujara was the ‘Player of the Match’ here.

Australia’s comeback in Perth and Bumrah’s storm in Melbourne
Australia made a strong comeback in the second Test held in Perth. Thanks to the excellent bowling of Nathan Lyon, the Kangaroo team defeated India by 146 runs and leveled the series at 1-1. After this, in the third Test held in Melbourne, India put pressure on Australia by batting strongly in the first two days. India declared the first innings at 443 runs and later, with the help of Jasprit Bumrah’s 6 wickets, Australia was bowled out for just 151 runs. After a huge lead of 292 runs, Team India declared its second innings after scoring 106 runs. Here Australia got the target of 399 runs, in response to which it could score only 261 runs.

Cheteshwar Pujara was ‘Player of the Series’
After losing the Test series by 2-1, the Australian team looked under pressure in the fourth Test also. The result was that India scored more than 600 runs in the first innings. After such a huge score, it was decided that now India cannot lose the match. In such a situation, Australia also started trying to play a draw. In this way the fourth Test was a draw and the Test series went to Team India. The ‘Player of the Series’ of this series was Cheteshwar Pujara. He scored a total of 521 runs in this four-match Test series.

Also read…

IND vs AFG: Who will get a chance in the T20 series against Afghanistan? Team India’s squad could be like this

Leave a Comment