ZPM government in Mizoram, won 27 seats, legislature party meeting to be held tomorrow, resignation of CM Zoramthanga

Mizoram Election Result 2023: In the Mizoram Assembly elections, Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) has won 27 out of 40 seats. In the results of Mizoram elections declared on Monday (December 4), ZPM has got a clear majority. Now the party will stake claim to form the government in the state. Before this, an important meeting has also been called on Tuesday (December 5) to hold talks with the legislature party and senior leaders. Further strategy will be decided in the meeting.

According to news agency PTI, ZPM’s working president K Sapdanga said that party leader Lalduhoma is in Serchhip, who reached Aizawl on Monday to meet the newly elected MLAs. He says that the decision to form the government in Mizoram will be taken in the party unit “Val Upa Council”. In this, discussions will be held with all the MLAs and further decisions will be taken.

Party’s chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma won

The important thing is that the party’s chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma is also among the prominent leaders of ZPM who won. He defeated J. of Mizo National Front (MNF) on Serchhip seat. Malsavamjuala defeated Wanchawang by 2,982 votes.

Ruling MNF won only 10 seats

According to the Election Commission data, the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) led by Chief Minister Zoramthanga has suffered a crushing defeat in the elections. MNF had to be satisfied with only 10 seats.

Give to BJP, Congress gets one seat

This time in the elections, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had fielded candidates on 23 seats, but it was able to win only 2 seats. BJP’s Dr. K. Dr. K. Beichhua won the Saiha seat and K. Harahmo (K. HRAHMO) has registered his victory from Palak seat. At the same time, in Mizoram, C Ngunlianchunga of Congress has saved the face of the party by winning the Longtalai West seat by a margin of 432 votes.

All four candidates of Aam Aadmi Party lost

Apart from this, for the first time in Mizoram elections, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had also fielded candidates on 4 seats, but it did not win any of them. Sapdanga attributed the party’s victory to the people’s desire for ‘Kalphung Thar’ or the ZPM’s promise of a new system of governance. Zoram People’s Movement has expressed gratitude to the people for the mandate received. ZPM leader Laliyan Sawta congratulated all the winning candidates. Also urged the losers not to lose courage.

CM Zoramthanga met the Governor and submitted his resignation.

Meanwhile, after the mandate against the ruling party, Mizoram Chief Minister Zoramthanga met Governor Hari Babu Kambhampati on Monday evening and submitted his resignation to him after the defeat of his party Mizo National Front in the assembly elections. Zoramthanga himself lost the Aizawl East-1 seat to ZPM candidate Lalthansanga by 2,101 votes.

Also read: How is the mathematics of Rajya Sabha decided by assembly seats? Understand the complete equation here

Leave a Comment