Opposition united against BJP before Patna meeting, know what was the result

0 42

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: On Friday (June 23), a grand gathering of opposition parties took place in Bihar’s capital Patna, in which the strategy to remove PM Modi from power in 2024 was brainstormed. The only agenda of this meeting, which was called by Nitish Kumar, was to forget all the differences and bring the different parties together for 2024. How successful this mission was, it will be known in the future, but even before this, the opposition has united against PM Modi and BJP several times. Let’s see what happened then.

2017 UP Assembly Elections

In the Modi wave of the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP had won a one-sided victory in Uttar Pradesh. After this, assembly elections were held in the state in 2017. At that time there was a Samajwadi Party government in the state under the leadership of Akhilesh Yadav. Akhilesh Yadav made an alliance with the Congress to stop the effect of the Modi wave in the assembly elections and contested the elections together but failed. Not only did the BJP win the state, but it was able to single-handedly capture more than 300 seats in the 403-member assembly. BJP along with its allies won 324 seats.

UP- 2019 Lok Sabha Elections

The landslide victory of the BJP in 2017 created a big undercurrent in the politics of Uttar Pradesh, the effect of which was reflected in the Lok Sabha elections held two years later. Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party contested together in this election. The two parties were together for the first time after the 1995 guest house incident but still failed to stop the BJP. BJP won 62 out of 80 Lok Sabha seats in the state. Samajwadi Party and BSP got a total of 15 seats, in which Samajwadi Party got only 5 seats and BSP got 10 seats.

2015 Bihar Assembly Elections

After coming to power at the Center in 2014, under the leadership of PM Modi, BJP’s victory chariot was moving from one state to another. During this, the assembly elections came in 2015, where a unique experiment was done to stop the BJP. Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad Yadav, who are bitter opponents of each other in the state, came together. JDU-RJD and Congress contested the elections together, in which BJP was defeated. The Grand Alliance government was formed in the state.

Karnataka – 2019 Lok Sabha Elections

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, an experiment took place in Karnataka, similar to Uttar Pradesh, where the Congress and the Janata Dal Secular (JDS) contested together. A year before this, both the parties had formed a coalition government after the assembly elections. In 2019, both the parties decided to form an alliance before the elections but the results were not favourable. BJP won 25 out of 28 seats in the state while Congress and JDS got only one seat each.

2022 UP Assembly Election

After the setbacks in 2017 and 2019, once again in 2022, there was an alliance to defeat the BJP in UP. This time the Samajwadi Party contested the assembly elections together with Jayant Chaudhary’s RLD, Om Prakash Rajbhar’s Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party and others. The alliance was new but the result was no different from last time. BJP once again won and formed the government.

2019 Jharkhand Assembly Election

Encouraged by the success of Bihar, in 2019, a Grand Alliance was experimented in the neighboring state of Jharkhand as well. Shibu Soren’s Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Congress and RJD contested the assembly elections together. Like Bihar, the Grand Alliance factor was successful in Jharkhand as well and the BJP was defeated.

The strength of the united opposition in Patna

Now let’s have a look in front of BJP and know the strength of united opposition in Patna. At present BJP has 301 MPs in Lok Sabha and 93 MPs in Rajya Sabha. Along with this, there is BJP-led NDA government in 16 states.

The opposition parties involved in the Patna meeting have a total of 140 MPs in the Lok Sabha, while the Rajya Sabha has 93 members. Along with this, there are governments of the parties gathered here in 11 states. One thing is to be noted that the ruling parties of Odisha, Telangana and Andhra Pradesh did not participate in this meeting.

read this also

Opposition Meet: 15 parties, different ways, will they be united on the agenda of 2024? Nitish’s test in Patna

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.