HomeNational NewsAll women bench will sit for the third time in the history...

All women bench will sit for the third time in the history of Supreme Court

All-Women Bench Supreme Court: Today (December 1) will probably be the third time in the history of the Supreme Court that a woman bench will sit for hearing. Chief Justice DY Chandrachud constituted a bench of Justices Hima Kohli and Bela M Trivedi on Wednesday. According to reports, for the first time the Supreme Court had a women’s bench in 2013. At that time Justice Gyan Sudha Mishra and Ranjana Prakash Desai were sitting together. This happened for the second time in the year 2018, when Justices R Banumathi and Indira Banerjee shared a bench on 5 September.

According to media reports, the bench comprising Justices Kohli and Trivedi has 32 matters listed, including 10 transfer petitions related to matrimonial disputes and 10 bail matters. The Supreme Court currently has only three women judges – Justices Kohli, BV Nagaratna and Bela M Trivedi. Justice Kohli’s term is till September 2024, Justice Trivedi will hold office till June 2025 and Justice Nagaratna is going to become the country’s first woman Chief Justice in 2027.

The Supreme Court now has the working capacity of only 27 judges despite the approval of 34 judges. At the same time, next month this vacancy will increase to eight, because Justice S Abdul Nazeer is going to retire on January 4, 2023. The tenure of seven more judges is coming to an end next year.

History of women judges in Supreme Court

News Reels

In 1989, the first woman judge, M Fathima Beevi, was appointed to the Supreme Court. He was followed by Justices Sujata Manohar, Ruma Pal, Gyan Sudha Mishra, Ranjana Prakash Desai, R Bhanumati, Indu Malhotra, Indira Banerjee, Kohli, Nagaratna and Trivedi. The last three were awarded on the same day on September 2, 2021 by the then Chief Justice of India N. The oath was administered during the tenure of V. Ramana. At that time the number of women judges including Justice Banerjee had increased to four. Please tell that Justice Banerjee has retired on September 23 this year.

Significantly, Justice Kohli was the Chief Justice of the Telangana High Court before being elevated to the Supreme Court. At the same time, Justice Trivedi was a judge of the Gujarat High Court before being promoted to the Supreme Court.

read this also- Gujarat Election 2022: Ravindra Jadeja’s wife Rivaba Jadeja said before voting in Gujarat- ‘Today is an important day, hard work is going to pay off’

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments